The Great Eight

The Great Eight

The 1975 Cincinnati Reds

Edited by Mark Armour

Memorable Teams in Baseball History Series

272 pages
39 photographs, 35 tables


April 2014


$24.95 Add to Cart

About the Book

The 1975 Cincinnati Reds, also known as the “Big Red Machine,” are not just one of the most memorable teams in baseball history—they are unforgettable. While the Reds dominated the National League from 1972 to 1976, it was the ’75 team that surpassed them all, winning 108 games and beating the Boston Red Sox in a thrilling 7-game World Series. Led by Hall of Fame manager Sparky Anderson, the team’s roster included other legends such as Johnny Bench, Pete Rose, Joe Morgan, Tony Pérez, Ken Griffey Sr., and Dave Concepción. The 1975 Reds were notably disciplined and clean-cut, which distinguished them from the increasingly individualistic players of the day.
The Great Eight commemorates the people and events surrounding this outstanding baseball team with essays on team management and key aspects and highlights of the season, including Pete Rose’s famous position change. This volume gives Reds fans complete biographies of all the team’s players, relives the enthralling 1975 season, and celebrates a team that is consistently ranked as one of the best teams in baseball history.

Author Bio

Mark Armour is the author of Joe Cronin (Nebraska, 2010) and coeditor of Pitching, Defense, and Three-Run Homers: The 1970 Baltimore Orioles (Nebraska, 2012).


"To understand how a complete organization in baseball works, a full treatment of all parts of the team must be considered, and this lively volume fulfills that task."—Richard Loosbrock, Journal of Sport History

“In Johnny Bench, Joe Morgan, and Pete Rose, the Cincinnati Reds boasted some of the biggest stars of the 1970s. But the Big Red Machine was a true team effort, and this fascinating book gets to the essence of the Machine—and its back-to-back World Series triumphs—by examining even its most minute components. A superbly in-depth look at one of the greatest teams of all time, this is essential reading for any baseball fan.”—Dan Epstein, author of Big Hair and Plastic Grass: A Funky Ride through Baseball and America in the Swinging ’70s


Table of Contents

Mark Armour
1. Bob Howsam
Mark Armour
2. Scouting and Player Development
Jim Sandoval
3. Sparky Anderson
Cindy Thomson
4. George Scherger
Mark Armour
5. Alex Grammas
Maxwell Kates
6. Larry Shepard
Andy Sturgill
7. Ted Kluszewski
Paul Ladewski
8. Preseason Outlook
Mark Armour
9. Pete Rose
Andy Sturgill
10. Tom Hall
Mark Armour
11. Bill Plummer
Michael Fallon
12. Don Gullett
Charles F. Faber
13. Tom Carroll
Gregory H. Wolf
14. April 1975 Timeline
Mark Miller and Mark Armour
15. Ken Griffey
Charles F. Faber
16. Fred Norman
Doug Wilson
17. Rose to Third
Rory Costello
18. Clay Carroll
Derek Norin and Mark Armour
19. Merv Rettenmund
Jacob Pomrenke
20. May 1975 Timeline
Mark Miller and Mark Armour
21. Johnny Bench
Mark Armour
22. Pat Darcy
Gregory H. Wolf
23. Dan Driessen
Gregory H. Wolf
24. César Gerónimo
Jorge Iber
25. John Vukovich
Andy Sturgill
26. June 1975 Timeline
Mark Miller and Mark Armour
27. George Foster
Cindy Thomson
28. Terry Crowley
Malcolm Allen
29. Pedro Borbon
Jorge Iber
30. Dave Concepción
Joseph Wancho
31. Ed Armbrister
Rory Costello
32. July 1975 Timeline
Mark Miller and Mark Armour
33. Joe Morgan
Charles F. Faber
34. Doug Flynn
Gregory H. Wolf
35. Rawly Eastwick
Andy Sturgill
36. Gary Nolan
Richard Miller
37. Darrel Chaney
Derek Norin
38. August 1975 Timeline
Mark Miller and Mark Armour
39. Tony Pérez
Philip A. Cola
40. Jack Billingham
Bill Nowlin
41. Clay Kirby
Charles F. Faber
42. Don Werner
Malcolm Allen
43. Will McEnaney
Mark Miller
44. September 1975 Timeline
Mark Miller and Mark Armour
45. Marty Brennaman
Matt Bohn
46. Postseason
Mark Armour
47. The Reds of Summer
Steve Treder
48. 1976 and Beyond
Anthony Giacalone
Notes and References

Also of Interest