Journals Log In | Journals Account Info

Books Cart  
Journals Cart  
Browse Books

Movie Sale
Holocaust Remembrance Day Sale
Jackie Robinson Sale
Poetry Month Book Sale
New April Books
Passover Sale

John G. Neihardt Library
UNP e-Newsletter (PDF version)
Recent Award Winners

Facebook page  Twitter  Pinterest

Connect with Us

American Indian & Indigenous Studies

American Indian &
Indigenous Studies e-catalog

Download PDF


History e-catalog
Download PDF

Spring/Summer 2014 catalog

Spring/Summer 2014 e-catalog
Download PDF

Potomac Books



The University of Nebraska Press is the proud publisher of many award-winning authors, including Pulitzer Prize-winner and former U. S. Poet Laureate Ted Kooser; Nobel Prize in Literature winners J. M. G. Le Clézio, Herta Müller, and Mario Vargas Llosa; Bancroft Prize Winners Margaret D. Jacobs and Anne F. Hyde; and two-time National Book Award winner Wright Morris.

Discover our most recent award winners:

 Standing Firmly by the Flag    Standing Firmly by the Flag
Nebraska Territory and the Civil War, 1861-1867
James E. Potter

3rd Place in the 2012 Co-Founders Best Book Award from Westerners International
2013 Nebraska Book Award winner in Nonfiction History

 Island of Bones    Island of Bones
Joy Castro

First place in the Most Inspirational Nonfiction Book in English category in the International Latino Book Awards

 Epistolophilia    Epistolophilia
Writing the Life of Ona Simaite
Julija Sukys

Mavis Gallant Prize for Nonfiction Finalist

Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Nonfiction, Long-list

2013 Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Award in the Holocaust Literature Category

 Green Illusions    Green Illusions
The Dirty Secrets of Clean Energy and the Future of Environmentalism
Ozzie Zehner

2013 Independent Publisher Book Awards Bronze Medal Winner, Current Events II (Social Issues/Public Affairs/Ecological/Humanitarian)

Northern California Book Award Winner, General Nonfiction

 Descanso for My Father    Descanso for My Father
Fragments of a Life
Harrison Candelaria Fletcher

Winner of the Creative Nonfiction category in the 2013 Colorado Book Awards

2013 Independent Publisher Book Awards Bronze Medal Winner, Essay/Creative Non-Fiction category

 In Thought and Action    In Thought and Action
The Enigmatic Life of S. I. Hayakawa
Gerald W. Haslam with Janice E. Haslam

Award of Merit from the American Association for State and Local History

 The Team That Forever Changed Baseball and America    The Team That Forever Changed Baseball and America
The 1947 Brooklyn Dodgers
Edited by Lyle Spatz
Associate Editors Maurice Bouchard and Leonard Levin

2013 Ron Gabriel Award

 Eyes Right    Eyes Right
Confessions from a Woman Marine
Tracy Crow

Bronze winner in the General Non Fiction category of the 2012 Florida Book Awards

 We Are Here    We Are Here
Memories of the Lithuanian Holocaust
Ellen Cassedy

2013 Towson Prize for Literature

2012 ForeWord's Book of the Year finalist in History

Grub Street Prize

Prakhin International Literary Foundation Award

 Hoosh    Hoosh
Roast Penguin, Scurvy Day, and Other Stories of Antarctic Cuisine Jason C. Anthony

2012 Special Commendation André Simon Food and Drink Book Award

2013 Independent Publisher Book Awards Silver Medal Winner, Essay/Creative Non-Fiction Category

2012 ForeWord's Book of the Year finalist in Travel Essays

 Light on the Prairie    Light on the Prairie
Solomon D. Butcher, Photographer of Nebraska's Pioneer Days
Nancy Plain

2013 Spur Award for Best Western Juvenile Nonfiction

Will Rogers Medallion Award for Juvenile Nonfiction

Award of Merit, American Association for State and Local History

2013 Nebraska Book Award winner in Youth Nonfiction

 Of Duty Well and Faithfully Done    Of Duty Well and Faithfully Done
A History of the Regular Army in the Civil War
Clayton R. Newell and Charles R. Shrader
With a foreword by Edward M. Coffman

2013 Distinguished Book Award for Reference from the Society for Military History

2011 winner of the AHF Distinguished Writing Awards, Reference category

 The History of the Holocaust in Romania    The History of the Holocaust in Romania
Jean Ancel
Translated by Yaffah Murciano
Edited by Leon Volovici
With the assistance of Miriam Caloianu

Winner of the 2012 National Jewish Book Award in the Writing Based on Archival Material category

 Almost Somewhere    Almost Somewhere
Twenty-Eight Days on the John Muir Trail
Suzanne Roberts

Winner of the Literature Category of the 2012 National Outdoor Book Awards

 Connie Mack    Connie Mack
The Turbulent and Triumphant Years, 1915-1931
Norman L. Macht

2012 CASEY Award for Best Baseball Book of the Year finalist

 The Rhythm Boys of Omaha Central    The Rhythm Boys of Omaha Central
High School Basketball at the '68 Racial Divide
Steve Marantz
With a foreword by Susie Buffett

2011 ForeWord's Book of the Year Gold Winner in Sports/Adult Nonfiction

 Bohemian Girl    Bohemian Girl
Terese Svoboda

2011 ForeWord Book of the Year finalist in Historical Adult Fiction

 The Book of What Stays    The Book of What Stays
James Crews

2011 ForeWord Book of the Year honorable mention in Adult Nonfiction Poetry