Journals Log In | Journals Account Info

Books Cart  
Journals Cart  
Browse Books

Shavuot Sale
Father's Day Sale
Summer Reading Sale
Jewish American Heritage Month Sale
Israel Independence Day Sale
New May Books

ie logo
UNP e-Newsletter
(PDF version)


Memorial Day Hours
John G. Neihardt Library
Recent Award Winners

Facebook page  Twitter  Pinterest  Instagram

Connect with Us

Fall/Winter 2016 catalog

Fall/Winter 2016 e-catalog
Download PDF


Spring/Summer 2016 catalog

Spring/Summer 2016 e-catalog
Download PDF

Potomac Books


Lord Grizzly, Second Edition, Lord Grizzly, Second Edition, 0803235232, 0-8032-3523-2, 978-0-8032-3523-6, 9780803235236, Frederick Manfred Foreword by John R. Milton Introduction by Freya Manfred , , Lord Grizzly, Second Edition, 0803240600, 0-8032-4060-0, 978-0-8032-4060-5, 9780803240605, Frederick Manfred Foreword by John R. Milton Introduction by Freya Manfred , , Lord Grizzly, Second Edition, 0803253052, 0-8032-5305-2, 978-0-8032-5305-6, 9780803253056, Frederick Manfred Foreword by John R. Milton

Lord Grizzly, Second Edition
Frederick Manfred
Foreword by John R. Milton
Introduction by Freya Manfred

2011. 310 pp.
1 map
$18.95 t

Hunter, trapper, resourceful fighter, and scout, Hugh Glass was just a rugged man among other rugged American frontiersmen until he was mauled by a grizzly bear and left for dead by his best friends. Hugh’s rage drove him to crawl two hundred miles across dangerous territory to seek revenge until he was no longer Hugh Glass but had become Lord Grizzly.
Lord Grizzly is the second volume of Frederick Manfred’s acclaimed five-volume series, The Buckskin Man Tales. For this Bison Books edition, poet Freya Manfred provides a new introduction.

Frederick Manfred (1912–94) grew up on a farm in Iowa with six brothers, attended Calvin College in Michigan, and then hitchhiked for two years across America, which provided him with rich material for his novels. He is the author of twenty-four novels, including a five-volume series, The Buckskin Man Tales, which includes Lord Grizzly, a finalist for the 1954 National Book Award, Conquering Horse, Scarlet Plume, King of Spades, and Riders of Judgment. He also published volumes of poetry, short stories, and essays. John R. Milton (1924–95) taught at the University of South Dakota and is the author of several works, including The Novel of the American West, South Dakota: A Bicentennial History, and The Tree of Bones and Other Poems. Freya Manfred is the author of the memoir Frederick Manfred: A Daughter Remembers and six books of poetry, including My Only Home and Swimming With A Hundred Year Old Snapping Turtle.

“This is a very fine, real, rich, bright novel. Above all it is a novel deserving the appreciative reading and warm applause of all who, like the author, value the legends of America and believe in both their perpetuation and their interpretation.”—Chicago Sunday Tribune
“There is a ranginess, a freewheeling robustness, and engaging lustiness of style and expression here. . . . Lord Grizzly is a heady mixture of history made into first-rate fiction.”—New York Times

"Lord Grizzly is more than just an adventure: it's an examination of human character and emotion."—Minnesota Public Radio

Also of Interest

Saga of Hugh Glass
John Myers Myers

Conquering Horse
Frederick Manfred

Scarlet Plume
Frederick Manfred

Lige Mounts, Free Trapper
Frank B. Linderman