Eagle Voice Remembers


Eagle Voice Remembers

An Authentic Tale of the Old Sioux World

John G. Neihardt
Foreword by Coralie Hughes
Introduction by Raymond J. DeMallie

272 pages

Look inside the Book

June 2011


$18.95 Add to Cart
eBook (EPUB)

(Requires Adobe Digital Editions)

January 2013


$18.95 Add to Cart
eBook (PDF)

(Requires Adobe Digital Editions)

June 2011


$18.95 Add to Cart

About the Book

“[Eagle Voice Remembers] is John Neihardt’s mature and reflective interpretation of the old Sioux way of life. He served as a translator of the Sioux past, whose audience has proved not to be limited by space or time. Through his writings, Black Elk, Eagle Elk, and other old men who were of that last generation of Sioux to have participated in the old buffalo-hunting life and the disorienting period of strife with the U.S. Army found a literary voice. What they said chronicles a dramatic transition in the life of the Plains Indians; the record of their thoughts, interpreted by Neihardt, is a legacy preserved for the future. It transcends the specifics of this one tragic case of cultural misunderstanding and conflict and speaks to universal human concerns. It is a story worth contemplating both for itself and for the lessons it teaches all humanity.”—Raymond J. DeMallie
In her foreword to Eagle Voice Remembers, Coralie Hughes discusses Neihardt’s intention that this book, formerly titled When the Tree Flowered, be understood as a prequel to his classic Black Elk Speaks.

Author Bio

John G. Neihardt (1881–1973) is known internationally for Black Elk Speaks and is a noted author in several genres. He is the author of A Cycle of the West and Knowledge and Opinion, both available from the University of Nebraska Press. Coralie Hughes is the granddaughter of John G. Neihardt and the head of the Neihardt Trust. Raymond J. DeMallie is the author or editor of numerous books, including The Sixth Grandfather: Black Elk’s Teachings Given to John G. Neihardt, available in a Bison Books edition.


“A warm and often moving piece of literature which can be appreciated for its literary value and for its insights into Sioux culture.”—Rocky Mountain Social Science Journal

Table of Contents

Introduction to the New Edition
Introduction to the British Edition
I "I Used to Be Her Horse"
II When the Hundred Died
III The New Medicine Power
IV Wandering to Mourn
V Was the Great Voice Angry?
VI Chased by a Cow
VII Going on Vision Quest
VIII "Hold Fast; There is More!"
IX The Old Bull's Last Fight
X The Boys Who Had Sister Trouble
XI Helping a Brother-Friend
XII The Mysterious Mother-Power
XIII Four Against the Crows
XIV "Am I Greater Than the People?"
XV The Sun Dance
XVI Thanking the Food
XVII The Woman Four Times Widowed
XVIII Falling Star, the Savior
XIX The Labors of the Holy One
XX The Battle in the Blizzard
XXI The Cleansing of a Kills-Home
XXII Why the Island Hill Was Sacred
XXIII Fighting the Gray Fox
XXIV "It Was a Great Victory"
XXV The Woman Who Died Twice
XXVI The Moon of Black Cherries
XXVII The Dark Hills of Water
XXVIII In the Village Called Pars
XXIX The Girl's Road

Also of Interest