Eagle Voice Remembers


Eagle Voice Remembers

An Authentic Tale of the Old Sioux World

Annotated, A Bison Classic Edition

John G. Neihardt
Foreword by Coralie Hughes
Annotated by David C. Posthumus
Introduction by Raymond J. DeMallie

348 pages


February 2021


$29.95 Add to Cart
eBook (PDF)
Ebook purchases delivered via Leaf e-Reader

February 2021


$29.95 Add to Cart
eBook (EPUB)
Ebook purchases delivered via Leaf e-Reader

February 2021


$29.95 Add to Cart

About the Book

“[Eagle Voice Remembers] is John Neihardt’s mature and reflective interpretation of the old Sioux way of life. He served as a translator of the Sioux past, whose audience has proved not to be limited by space or time. Through Neihardt’s writings Black Elk, Eagle Elk, and other old men who were of that last generation of Sioux to have participated in the old buffalo-hunting life and the disorienting period of strife with the U.S. Army found a literary voice. What they say chronicles a dramatic transition in the life of the Plains Indians; the record of their thoughts, interpreted by Neihardt, is a legacy preserved for the future. It transcends the specifics of this one tragic case of cultural misunderstanding and conflict and speaks to universal human concerns. It is a story worth contemplating both for itself and for the lessons it teaches all humanity.”—from the introduction by Raymond J. DeMallie
In her foreword Coralie Hughes discusses John G. Neihardt’s intention that this book, formerly titled When the Tree Flowered, be understood as a prequel to his classic Black Elk Speaks. In this new edition David C. Posthumus adds clarity through his annotations, introducing Eagle Voice Remembers to a new generation of readers and presenting a fresh understanding for fans of the original.

Author Bio

John G. Neihardt (1881–1973) is known internationally for Black Elk Speaks (Bison Books, 2014) and is the author of A Cycle of the West (Nebraska, 2002), among many other books. Coralie Hughes is the granddaughter of John G. Neihardt and the head of the Neihardt Trust. David C. Posthumus is an assistant professor of anthropology at the University of South Dakota. He is the author of All My Relatives: Exploring Lakota Ontology, Belief, and Ritual (Nebraska, 2018). Raymond J. DeMallie is Chancellors’ Professor Emeritus of Anthropology and former director of the American Indian Studies Research Institute at Indiana University. He is the author and editor of numerous books, including The Sixth Grandfather: Black Elk’s Teachings Given to John G. Neihardt (Nebraska, 1984).


"This is a delightful volume with stories of childhood, kinship, adventure, war, hunting, even finding new life in a Plains tribal culture which continues to enrich twenty-first century America. Read or re-read the book."—Michael Smith, Nebraska History Magazine

"Eagle Voice Remembers is an important work for anyone interested in the region's Indigenous history."—Chelsea D. Frazier, South Dakota History

“A warm and often moving piece of literature which can be appreciated for its literary value and for its insights into Sioux culture.”—Rocky Mountain Social Science Journal

Table of Contents


Foreword by Coralie Hughes

Introduction to the New Edition by Raymond J. DeMallie

John G. Neihardt’s Introduction to the British Edition

I. “I Used to Be Her Horse”

II. When the Hundred Died

III. The New Medicine Power

IV. Wandering to Mourn

V. Was the Great Voice Angry?

VI. Chased by a Cow

VII. Going on Vision Quest

VIII. “Hold Fast; There Is More!”

IX. The Old Bull’s Last Fight

X. The Boys Who Had Sister Trouble

XI. Helping a Brother-Friend

XII. The Mysterious Mother-Power

XIII. Four Against the Crows

XIV. “Am I Greater Than the People?”

XV. The Sun Dance

XVI. Thanking the Food

XVII. The Woman Four Times Widowed

XVIII. Falling Star, the Savior

XIX. The Labors of the Holy One

XX. The Battle in the Blizzard

XXI. The Cleansing of a Kills-Home

XXII. Why the Island Hill Was Sacred

XXIII. Fighting the Gray Fox

XXIV. “It Was a Great Victory”

XXV. The Woman Who Died Twice

XXVI. The Moon of Black Cherries

XXVII. The Dark Hills of Water

XXVIII. In the Village Called Pars

XXIX. The Girl’s Road



Also of Interest