The Forsaken and the Dead


The Forsaken and the Dead

The Bass Reeves Trilogy, Book Three

Sidney Thompson

The Bass Reeves Trilogy Series

236 pages
1 photograph, 1 map


October 2023


$19.95 Add to Cart
eBook (EPUB)

October 2023


$19.95 Add to Cart
eBook (PDF)

October 2023


$19.95 Add to Cart

About the Book

Books 1 & 2 of the Bass Reeves Trilogy adapted for the Paramount+ miniseries Lawmen: Bass Reeves

All heroes have fatal flaws and a moment of defining hubris, but few rise from the ashes to achieve greater heights. In 1884 Deputy U.S. Marshal Bass Reeves was arrested for murder and placed among his own prisoners in Hell on the Border, the infamous federal jail in Fort Smith, Arkansas. It was the single greatest setback of his illustrious career, but it wouldn’t be his last mistake or trial by fire.

In The Forsaken and the Dead we meet Reeves again. In the 1890s, past his prime, Reeves proceeds through the valleys and shadows of Indian and Oklahoma Territories. Despite his caution and innovations as a lawman and detective, his nation no longer seems a product of his own making—so much like his children and his marriage to Jennie. While a modern world implodes around him and demons from his past continue to haunt his present, he remains resolute in his faith that he can be a steady rider on a pale horse.

Author Bio

Sidney Thompson teaches creative writing and African American literature at Texas Christian University. He is the author of the award-winning Follow the Angels, Follow the Doves: The Bass Reeves Trilogy, Book One (Bison Books, 2020) and Hell on the Border: The Bass Reeves Trilogy, Book Two (Bison Books, 2021), adapted for the Paramount+ miniseries Lawmen: Bass Reeves, directed by Taylor Sheridan and starring David Oyelowo.


“Sidney Thompson is a master of craft. Full stop. Each sentence compels us onward with lean, restrained prose. I was completely pulled into the vortex of Bass’s world. I couldn’t put this book down. Thompson is not just a good storyteller, thank goodness, but a great one.”—Daniel Peña, author of Bang

“Finally, the fictional treatment that Bass Reeves deserves! This is historical fiction of the highest order: an unwavering allegiance to the historical record combined with vivid, lyrical writing and deeply drawn characters. Sidney Thompson skillfully weaves together historical elements in this compelling story of one of the greatest lawmen to put on a badge, a sweeping saga reminiscent of Lonesome Dove or The Son. Thompson’s trilogy should be required reading for anyone who loves American historical fiction, Westerns, or just a finely told story about real-life heroes.”—Matt Bondurant, author of Oleander City and The Wettest County in the World, basis for the movie Lawless

“With the spellbinding conclusion to his magnificent trilogy, Sidney Thompson has finally corrected a shameful wrong. Invisible to history and literature for far too long, Bass Reeves is risen, resurrected. In sonorous prose, with the mastery of a singular storyteller, Thompson has turned the word into flesh and has rescued Bass from the enclave of the forsaken and the dead.”—Miroslav Penkov, author of East of the West

Table of Contents

Note on Language

Part 1. 1895
1. Thatch
2. Keokuk Falls
3. Before, During, and After
4. The Kickapoos

Part 2. 1896
5. Living God
6. Home
7. Geronimo
8. The Court of the Damned
9. A New Moon
10. Pauls Valley
11. A Devil
12. Smoke
13. The Washout
14. Snuff
15. Hello

Part 3. 1898
16. The Treeing Walker-Mountain Cur

Part 4. 1909
17. The Beat, the Bag, and the Boy—So Bright


Also of Interest