Shadow of the Sword


Shadow of the Sword

A Marine's Journey of War, Heroism, and Redemption

Jeremiah Workman
With John R. Bruning
Foreword by Sergeant Major Carlton W. Kent

280 pages
22 illustrations


April 2012


$21.95 Add to Cart

About the Book

Staff Sergeant Jeremiah Workman is one of the Marine Corps’s best-known contemporary combat veterans. In this searing and inspiring memoir, he tells an unforgettable story of his service overseas—and of the emotional wars that continue long after fighting soldiers come home.

In the Iraqi city of Fallujah in December 2004, Workman faced the challenge that would change his life. He and his platoon came upon a building in which insurgents had trapped their fellow Marines. Leading repeated assaults on that building, Workman killed more than twenty of the enemy in a firefight that left three of his own men dead.

But Workman’s most difficult fight lay ahead, in the battlefield of his mind. He returned stateside, was awarded the Navy Cross for gallantry under fire, and was then assigned to the Marine base at Parris Island as a drill instructor. Haunted by the thought that he had failed his men overseas, Workman suffered a psychological breakdown in front of the soldiers he was charged with preparing for war.

In Shadow of the Sword, a memoir that brilliantly captures both wartime courage and its lifelong consequences, Workman candidly reveals the ordeal of post-traumatic stress.

Author Bio

Jeremiah Workman is a military service coordinator with the Department of Veteran Affairs. John R. Bruning is the author or coauthor of ten books, including How to Break a Terrorist and Bombs Away!: The World War II Bombing Campaigns over Europe. Carlton W. Kent served as the sixteenth Sergeant Major of the Marine Corps.


“A raw, heartfelt account of how a man of valor lost his bearings and eventually found the courage to share his story.”—Bing West

“Searing. . . . In its depiction of combat, Shadow of the Sword ranks with Marcus Luttrell’s Lone Survivor.”—Wall Street Journal

“This superior addition to the literature on the Iraq War is an exceptionally vivid account of combat and its aftermath. . . . Workman’s testimony gives hope that those suffering the nightmare of PTSD can free themselves sufficiently to avoid becoming additional casualties of the current war.”—Booklist

“An important book about a debilitating injury that thousands of warriors struggle with each day. It is only fair that Americans understand the true costs of war. Be informed. Be inspired. Read this book.”—Wesley R. Gray, U.S. Naval Institute’s Proceedings magazine

“A brutally honest account of Workman’s daily struggle…, which, as the author reveals, has destroyed or crippled the lives of hundreds of thousands of combat veterans of America's wars.”—James C. Roberts, Washington Times

“In writing this moving and incredibly honest book, Jeremiah Workman shows as much courage as he did in Fallujah. His story gives hope to everyone who struggles that they, too, can overcome if they just keep fighting—one day at a time, one battle at a time, one victory at a time.”—Donovan Campbell, author of the New York Times bestseller Joker One

Table of Contents

Foreword by Sergeant Major Carlton W. Kent
Prologue: Stairwell to Nowhere
Chapter 1 - Reflection of the Damned
Chapter 2 - The Man without a Face
Chapter 3 - Mop-Up Crew
Chapter 4 - Diagnosis
Chapter 5 - A Mind at War
Chapter 6 - Beaufort
Chapter 7 - Drug Trip
Chapter 8 - The Last Medal
Chapter 9 - Ten-Step Kill Zone
Chapter 10 - Break Contact
Chapter 11 - Link by Link
Chapter 12 - Disconnect
Chapter 13 - Eight-Thousand-Mile Sniper Shot
Chapter 14 - The Ghost of Ira Hayes
Chapter 15 - A Moment in the Trough
Chapter 16 - Lost Moment
Chapter 17 - Return to the Island
Chapter 18 - Brothers
Chapter 19 - Bleeding Love
Chapter 20 - The Dark Side of the Brotherhood
Chapter 21 - The Wrong Fight
Chapter 22 - Bootstraps
Chapter 23 - Scorched Earth
Chapter 24 - Human Bomb
Chapter 25 - Field-Grade Hero
Chapter 26 - Obliteration
Chapter 27 - Craterscape
Chapter 28 - Battlefield Requiem
Chapter 29 - October Dawn
Chapter 30 - Reconstruction
Chapter 31 - Generations
Chapter 32 - Setbacks
Chapter 33 - No Higher Honor
Chapter 34 - February 21, 2007
Epilogue: The Shadow War
Final Notes: Fall 2008

Also of Interest